Enterprise Technology Standards

Enterprise Technology Standards Overview

The State of Wisconsin Enterprise Technology Standards (ETS) (Previously the Technical Reference Model) is a component‐driven, technical framework loosely based on the Federal Enterprise Architecture (FEA) TRM. It categorizes the standards and technologies to support and enable the delivery of different services by the State of Wisconsin executive branch agencies. It also provides a foundation to advance the reuse and standardization of technology and service components throughout the technology stack. Aligning State of Wisconsin capital investments to the ETS leverages a common, standardized vocabulary, allowing inter application discovery, collaboration, and interoperability. Publication of the ETS fulfills some of the responsibilities charged to the Department of Administration (DOA) in Subchapter VII, Chapter 16 of the state statutes and allows the State of Wisconsin to benefit from economies of scale by identifying and reusing the best solutions and technologies to support the business functions, mission, and target architecture of the organization.

Organized in a hierarchy, the ETS categorizes the standards and technologies that collectively support the secure delivery, exchange, and construction of business and application service components that may be used and leveraged in a component‐based or service‐oriented architecture. The ETS lists the technologies that the State of Wisconsin executive branch agencies currently utilize or have utilized to provide the functionality indicated within the document. Specific details surrounding the usage or implementation of the technologies listed within the ETS should be worked through during the technical architecture review process. The ETS consists of:

Service Areas

Represent a technical tier supporting the secure construction, exchange, and delivery of service components in the enterprise. The service areas are defined as follows; Private Cloud Compute, Network, Storage, Platform, Security and Mainframe. This hierarchy provides the framework to group standards and technologies that directly support the service area.

Service Categories

Classify lower levels of technologies and standards with respect to Service Area technology function they serve. In turn, each service category is comprised of one or more service standards. Each Service Category is reviewed by a Technology Advisory group that makes recommendations to the Decision group. The Technology Advisory group is also responsible for developing the Service Strategy around the Category. These strategies will be referenced as available in the ETS. Additionally where appropriate Service offering Definitions are referenced within each Category.

Service Standards / Sub‐categories

Defines the standards and technologies that support a service category. Service standards identify technology versions down to the point release only. Each current technology is hyperlinked (where possible) to the vendors page/data sheet that describes the technology in detail. Within each service standard technologies are broken down into five technical classifications which are defined here:

Current Tactical:

Technologies that are currently being used / required and should be used when making
design and implementation decisions.


Technologies that include near‐term directions and options that need continued monitoring
to find applicability within the State IT infrastructure. Included are technologies that are not yet fully
production‐worthy but are potential candidates for full scale production implementations at some point
in the future. Continued market acceptance and adaptation will likely move these solutions toward the
strategic technical classification.


Technologies that are strongly being considered for implementation into the enterprise
environment. Managers should look at these when considering future technology implementations.


Technologies that are in their twilight that should be discouraged from use in new system
implementations. This is not to imply that existing systems need be retired or replaced immediately, but
that the use of these products and services should not be extended in any future planning and
development. These technologies generally are nearing the end of their lifecycle. However, managers of
systems utilizing these technologies should begin to consider when they can move away from them and
to a strategic technology.


Technologies that have an identified date associated with their retirement are retired or are no
longer supported. These technologies should be discouraged from use within new implementations.
Existing systems should be retired or replaced by the agreed upon sunset date.​